Testimonials

Patient Testimonials

Dr. Walrath is an outstanding surgeon, at the top of his field. He is truly the doctor’s doctor, an outstanding surgeon. I have referred several patients to him, and he operated on me twice to correct lid problems from an eye injury. The results were perfect. His staff is friendly and knowlegeable, and kept me informed about everything from insurance preauthorizations to scheduling. He personally called and checked on me after surgery. He is truly caring, has a great bedside manner, and is an exceptionally talented surgeon. Take it from another doctor…he’s the best! – A.L.

More reviews for Dr Joseph Walrath, can be found online at

healthgrades.com,

vitals.com,

webmd.com,

ratemds.com,

suggestadoctor.com,

yellowpages.com,

and wellness.com.

October 2019

It’s was almost painless, the bruising and swelling was less than we expected. I’m seeing so much better. Everyone says I no longer look like a Bassett Hound.

September 2019

The results of the surgery were exactly as explained and expected. Dr Walrath and all of his staff, in the clinic and at the hospital, were all wonderful.

September 2019

Dr. Walrath is an excellent doctor; very professional and very skilled, as well as friendly and communicative. My surgery went extremely well and I am very pleased with the results! I would not hesitate to recommend him to friends and family! I will also not hesitate to return should I need any further surgery. – B.P.

September 2019

Really happy with my results . He was warm and friendly. I would recommend him to everyone. Everyone says I look younger. Thank you again Dr Walrath.

September 2019

Wow. Thats all I can say!!! Dr. Walrath is the best!!! – S.B.

September 2019

Had surgery on 9/12/19 and after 1 week I am extremely satisfied with the results. I went to the best. – G.B.

September 2019

My experience with Dr Walrath was excellent. He explained everything clearly and handled my appointments in a professional manner.

September 2019

Procedure came out better than expected. Drooping eyelids no longer cover half of my eyes and vision is restored to normal. No scars or traces of incisions are visible. Great job!

September 2019

Very pleased with my experience with the service provided and the procedure performed by Dr Walrath.

September 2019

Really happy with the results from my surgery. The Dr and his staff was great.

September 2019

Dr. Walrath was thorough before during and after and I appreciated how well everyone prepared me for the surgery, which went off without a hitch. Great follow up as well.

September 2019

Really happy with my results . He was warm and friendly. I would recommend him to everyone. Everyone says I look younger. Thank you again Dr Walrath.

August 2019

The surgery was a great success. My vision is so much better than it was before. Dr Walrath’s staff was helpful and very professional. I do not know what other services I will need from him, but I will recommend him for sure.

August 2019

Dr Walrath did a second surgery on my eye as the lid was drooping and the eyelashes turning in. I was spending a lot going to my regular eye dr to get eyelashes pulled as they were scratching my cornea and for medication. Dr. Walrath told me it was an easy fix, nothing to worry about and he was absolutely correct. I absolutely love his bedside manner. He is the best.

August 2019

I have nothing but good things to say about Dr. Walrath and his staff, and I highly recommend him. From our first consultation to surgery and after care visits, he was professional, very approachable and caring.

July 2019

My ptosis repair surgery was a total success. Dr. Walrath is a wonderful person and professional in every sense of the word. His support staff is top notch. I would recommend The Woolfson Eye Institute to my family and friends.

 The total experience in Dr. Walrathss office has been excellent. Everyone is very accommodating and answered all questions and concerns Dr Walrath always gave me all the time and care I needed and of course he is an excellent surgeon. I will highly recommend him to anyone and everyone. 

COSMETIC

Dr. Walrath performs cosmetic surgery, cosmetic reconstructive surgery and nonsurgical procedures of the eyelids, forehead and midface. Oculoplastic surgeons perform both cosmetic and non-cosmetic surgery, and have a better track record preserving normal function while providing safe cosmetic surgery.

RECONSTRUCTIVE

Functional surgical and nonsurgical procedures of the eyelids, forehead, and midface help patients to see better, to improve their ocular health, and help relieve discomfort. In addition to surgical disease, Dr. Walrath manages chronic diseases of the eyelids, tear drains and eye sockets.

MINOR PROCEDURES

Dr. Walrath performs minor procedures at each office location during the initial consultation if indicated, including:

Biopsies, Excisions, Chalazion removals and Injections

July 2019

Great experience! Dr. Walrath is the absolute best, I would never see anyone else for eye surgery . Definitely made the right choice choosing him. Thank you Dr Walrath.

July 2019

Dr Walrath corrected an eyelid with ptosis and blepharoplasty on both eyes. The entire practice is incredible- pleasant and professional. They put you at ease the moment you arrive. His assistants are personable and efficient. Dr Walrath is energetic and I was comfortable with him instantly. The results were amazing. Natural looking and I can see better!

June 2019

My surgery for raising my eyelids with Dr. Walrath was an absolute home run. What a difference it made!

June 2019

I am very pleased with the results and I see a noticeable difference. The symmetry is near perfect and I am very grateful, the entire process was smooth and I was comfortable from beginning to end.

June 2019

Best experience ever , he informed me of everything from start to finish Very professional and caring.

May 2019

Total professional and straightforward manner with great results!!

April 2019

100 percent success with procedure. He was a very caring professional. Was not painful.

April 2019

Doctor Walrath is friendly, professional and made sure I was satisfied with procedure.

April 2019

No bruising no swelling. I look good.

March 2019

Very pleased. My eye looks normal again and I see better out of the eye.

March 2019

Wonderful Dr. and staff ~ My experience was wonderful. The procedure went very well. Great staff.

March 2019

I was very pleased. My surgery and recovery went very well.

February 2019

Very happy with results. Dr. Walrath was highly recommended. – C.R.

February 2019

Very good experience. Happy with results.

January 2019

Dr Walrath is a highly skilled surgeon and I couldn’t be happier with the results of my surgery. The surgery was relatively painless and Dr Walrath called me personally to check how I was feeling the next day. My vision is improved and my eyes look so much better. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr Walrath. – A.H.

January 2019

My procedure went so smoothly and the doctor and staff have been very professional.

November 2018

I have so much respect for my Dr. He takes time to explain everything in depth and does not suggest unnecessary procedures: wonderful bedside manners and great sense of humor.

October 2018

Dr Walrath’s work is beautiful and you keep your natural look.

September 2018

The experience with Dr. Walrath and his office was fabulous. I am very pleased and would recommend him and his office to anyone. Most people do not even realize I had surgery. They keep complimenting my hair and skin. I am very happy it looks so natural.

August 2018

Dr. Walrath did an amazing job with my 2 year old daughter’s frontalis sling surgery! She had a previous procedure by another surgeon that was unsuccessful. Dr. Walrath made her eyes look as even as they possibly could in someone born with congenital ptosis. We are so pleased and definitely recommend Dr Walrath highly!

May 2018

Dr. Walrath did an aggressive lower blepharoplasty with fat repositioning, canthoplexy, midface lift and temporal direct brow lifts. The result is remarkable. So happy.

May 2018

Pre surgery my left eye lids were almost closed , I would have to pull it back to see Post surgery I felt like a new me : my body image disturbance fled , Both of my eyes .. now have equal symmetry …

April 2018

Great care before and after surgery!

March 2018

Dr. Walrath was great. He knew immediately what the problem was and took care of it on the initial visit, easing my worries. His sense of humor is very calming!

May 2017

Dr. Walrath, I just wanted to thank you for being such a caring and concerned doctor. I really appreciated the time you spent examining my left eye. And when you were not sure what was wrong, you had a blood workup and 2 MRI’s set for me to find answers to my problem. Once you found what was wrong, you took your time to contact Dr. …, discuss my case and the MRI findings, and then set up an appointment for me. Then you took time to call me on a Saturday to inform me and my daughter about your findings… Thanks again for the patience and concern you have for me and for my daughter. I would highly recommend you to any and everyone I know that might need your services. I will see you in August. – C.D

August 2018

Dr. Walrath is an outstanding surgeon, at the top of his field. He is truly the doctor’s doctor, an outstanding surgeon. I have referred several patients to him, and he operated on me twice to correct lid problems from an eye injury. The results were perfect. His staff is friendly and knowlegeable, and kept me informed about everything from insurance preauthorizations to scheduling. He personally called and checked on me after surgery. He is truly caring, has a great bedside manner, and is an exceptionally talented surgeon. Take it from another doctor…he’s the best! – A.L.

April 2017

I had a ptosis correction surgery performed by another surgeon 10 years ago that had left me with upper eyelid retraction in my left lid. I consulted with at least a dozen different Occuloplastic surgeons and cosmetic surgeons, all of which told me my case was too risky and difficult to operate on. Some opted to add fillers to my eyelid in attempt to weigh my lid down into place, as it wasn’t closing properly. That just added to the scar tissue which was the main issue. When I read an article that Dr. Walrath wrote about the intricacies of eyelid surgery and correctional methods, I was impressed and felt a strong intuition that this would be the surgeon to see to finally alleviate my issues. Dr. Walrath is an extremely talented, compassionate, and highly qualified surgeon. He told me honestly what he could fix and what he could not. Fortunately, my case wasn’t beyond repair, as other surgeons suggested, so I was elated by this news. Surgery was a breeze, as well as recovery. The nurses and staff at Woolfson Eye Institute are top notch and truly care about you as a patient. Dr. Walrath was even nice enough to phone me, personally, the day after surgery (on his day off) to check up on my progress. I flew in from Chicago to Atlanta for the surgery and stayed at a nearby hotel. I was dismissed to fly home 6 days after surgery (and the main sutures were removed.) I sent follow up photos each week after surgery and everything looks great! My eye looks aesthetically pleasing now and nobody knows I’ve had a correction, but comment on how rested and sparkling I look now. Functionally, my lid closes and I no longer have as much tearing or dry eye issues I’ve had in the past. I only wish I had found him years ago! – L.C.

April 2017

Dr. Walrath really cares about his patients and listens to their concerns. He was the only surgeon that was able fix my retracted eyelid after multiple surgeries. I really appreciate his frank approach when discussing the surgery procedures. He goes above and beyond to answer his patient’s questions. – K.E.

February 2017

He has changed my life. I blinked so bad that I could not focus. I fell often. Hurt my hands always. Since the shots I can see stairs doors rails and I am not hurting myself all the time plus there is not fear like I had before of knowing that with every step I might fall or hit something. Thank you Dr Walrath. – K.D.

January 2017

Everything was explained in detail and I had clear understanding of what to expect. The staff was very. Caring and professional. The doctor put me at ease and then did a perfect job! Wish all surgery was this easy! Many thanks to all. – A. G.

August 2018

Dr. Walrath did an amazing job with my 2 year old daughter’s frontalis sling surgery! She had a previous procedure by another surgeon that was unsuccessful. Dr. Walrath made her eyes look as even as they possibly could in someone born with congenital ptosis. We are so pleased and definitely recommend Dr Walrath highly!

COSMETIC

Dr. Walrath performs cosmetic surgery, cosmetic reconstructive surgery and nonsurgical procedures of the eyelids, forehead and midface. Oculoplastic surgeons perform both cosmetic and non-cosmetic surgery, and have a better track record preserving normal function while providing safe cosmetic surgery.

RECONSTRUCTIVE

Functional surgical and nonsurgical procedures of the eyelids, forehead, and midface help patients to see better, to improve their ocular health, and help relieve discomfort. In addition to surgical disease, Dr. Walrath manages chronic diseases of the eyelids, tear drains and eye sockets.

MINOR PROCEDURES

Dr. Walrath performs minor procedures at each office location during the initial consultation if indicated, including:

Biopsies, Excisions, Chalazion removals and Injections

January 2017

Not only a skilled surgeon, but a caring person, Dr Walrath has operated on me twice. I have had many surgeries, not all very successful, but the last 2 have exceeded my expectations. He definitely has something going that set him apart from the rest! – Lisa

January 2017

I felt very comfortable with Dr. Walrath. He provided detailed information about my procedure and I knew what to expect. He followed up with me personally to insure my recovery was on track. His clinical staff was excellent. I would highly recommend Dr. Walrath as a skilled and caring surgeon based on my experience with blepharoplasty surgery. – J.S.

January 2017

Every step was clearly explained to me. Doctor called the next day to see how I was doing. I had upper Bleph under local. Highly recommend! I did not have to deal with anesthesia and made a quick recovery turnaround. There were no long wait times in the clinic. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. No pain meds needed after day 1. Overall a great experience with the Doctor and the whole team! – D.G.

January 2017

I highly recommend Dr. Walrath. He is highly skilled, very personable and never makes you feel rushed. He is happy to address any concerns and is great about explaining conditions and treatment option. – E.

Feburary 2016

Dr. Walrath… I just want to THANK YOU for being such an amazing surgeon. Next month, it will be a year since I had my eye surgery (upper and lower blepharoplasty) as well as raising my right eye. My eyes continue to look better every day. I’ve never seen a more conscientious doctor that takes more pride in his work. And your bedside manner is like no other. I will miss seeing you, but know I continue to sing your praises and refer you to all my friends. – J.A.

January 2016

He is great. I even want to go back just to see him. I mean, he is an amazing doctor and he cares about his patients whoever they are.

January 2016

Dr. Walrath is very comfortable in what he does. The surgery he did uncovered another very serious condition. He explained it in very simple terms. He urged me to contact my oncologist. I had and MRI…. this confirmed his original diagnosis. I have received 14 radiation treatments for ocular lymphoma and am now waiting to have a followup MRI to see the results of the treatment. Plus…. the eye lid surgery was done without a flaw.

January 2016

I anticipated one visit to look at the problem and another to take care of it. Everything was done in one visit and I really appreciated that. Also, the staff supporting Dr. Walrath is a very visible part of an excellent team approach.

January 2016

Dr. Walrath is an amazing man. He is a gifted surgeon and a definite people person always ready to take time with us and share a laugh too.

January 2016

While I didn’t like the news, I received. He explained what steps were needed to correct my problem.

January 2016

Because of the services I received, I have referred 2 others to Dr. Walrath.Because of the services I received, I have referred 2 others to Dr. Walrath.

January 2016

The results from my association with your practice have been amazing. I recommend you at each opportunity when the subject arises. God Bless and a Merry Christmas to you all.

January 2016

Dr. Walrath is an excellent doctor. I was impressed that he called me himself to check on how I was doing after my surgery.

January 2016

Dr. Walrath is an outstanding professional to whom I have referred many people since my visit. His office staff and surgical coordinator, Angelica. is outstanding too. They are not only professional, but caring and helpful and take whatever amount of time necessary to respond to patient questions and concerns. They go far beyond what is expected. I’m sure this attitude is cultivated by Dr. Walrath. I have been totally impressed and am spreading the word to friends and colleagues.

January 2016

Especially pleased & surprised to get a follow up call the morning after surgery from the doctor…not from his staff!!!

January 2016

Dr Walrath is a very good and caring doctor. He took all the time he needed to explain what he was going to do and what my recovery time and results should be. He has very good bed side manners for a doctor. I will recommend him highly to anyone who has need for an eye surgeon.

January 2016

Dr. Walrath is very experienced and personable. He is one of the few doctors I have met over the last 4 years that I felt immediately at ease with and confident in. He takes the time to make sure you fully understand your condition, any procedures you will be having, and after care. I have already recommended him and will do so again. Thank you Dr. Walrath for even making the surgery an interesting experience rather than a scary one!

June 2015

A grateful patient ~ It is hard to come up with the right words to express my gratitude to you and your skills as a surgeon. I will forever be indebted to you…How prudent of Dr. K to tell me that you were the only person he would send me to. – A.K.

March 2015

A grateful reconstruction patient ~ I had a large cancer on my eyelid that I had let go for a long time. I had 2 surgeons turn me down because of the severity of the operation needed. Dr. Walrath took on the challenge. It was a 2 day event. He set me up with a specialist to remove the cancer on day one. Then on day two Dr. Walrath did the reconstruction of my eyelid. He did an exceptional job. I still have an eye to see out of and an eyelid that works. I’m nearly 60 years old and in all those years I have never met a doctor with such a great bedside manor and friendly personality, not to mention his exception sills and abilities. He shows a genuine concern for his patients. After meeting Dr. Walrath you feel like you have more than a doctor, you made a new friend. I could sing his praises on and on, and if you ever need his expertise you will also. – B.J.

March 2015

A happy patient with durable results ~ Dr. Walrath,  It has been six months or so since you did surgery on my eyes and I just wanted to say thank you again for making the procedure so easy and enjoyable.  People have asked what is different about me or commented that I do not look as tired all the time…  With all my thanks. -N.A.

December 2014

This patient came to me after numerous failed (and costly) attempts to correct her upper eyelids in the past.

Holiday greetings from a happy patient 14 months after surgery. My eyelids are still looking great thanks to you! Perfect!!! Happy New Year! – M.V.

October 2104

Another review from an upper blepharoplasty patient

On August 1, 2014, you performed an upper eyelid blepharoplasty. I was very anxious about the procedure but you and your staff made me feel comfortable and completely at ease. I was totally amazed as to how easy the surgery was, on my part. I cannot express enough thanks to you and the staff at Gainesville Surgery Center for the care you provided for me.

I was truly surprised at 7:45 on Saturday night following the surgery when I received your call checking up on me. I have been a healthcare provider for over 35 years in the emergency response field and I know what good customer service is — you went above and beyond the call of duty. If you have any patients that are anxious about your service, please give them my telephone number and I will speak with them. – N.A.

October 2014

Recent review from an upper blepharoplasty patient

I am a complete fan of yours. Your care and demeanor from 1st appt to follow -up was the best. You are extremely knowledgeable, and it was apparent you were concerned with both the cosmetic and health outcomes of my procedure. I am very satisfied with the results. Thank you for you professionalism and a job well done. – D.B.

October 2014

Cosmetic upper and lower blepharoplasty patient review

I just had to tell you all the wonderful comments I have received today from many of my co-workers on the wonderful job you have done on my eyes. I have been passing the attached photos around the office and getting lots of compliments and not even 2 weeks out yet. I can’t wait to be one month from here. The pics have also gone across the pond and good reviews from friends there also. I might just make you world famous! – L.W.

PATIENT RESOURCES

Office locations, frequently asked questions, awards, insurance, downloads, testimonials, videos and photo galleries are provided to educate and prepare clients.

News / Blog

Updates in Dr. Walrath’s schedule, practice locations, or special rates. Upcoming talks and lectures. Other noteworthy professional events and observations.

Patient Information / FAQ's

Frequently Asked Questions topics include: Insurance, Charges, Procedures, etc. If you have a question we haven't answered, please contact us so we can assist you.

Office Locations

Dr. Walrath serves patients in Atlanta (Sandy Springs), Cumming, Lawrenceville, Gainesville, Covington, and Stockbridge.  He performs minor office procedures in all locations.  Major surgical procedures are performed in Atlanta, Alpharetta, Cumming, Gainesville, and Covington. 

JOSEPH WALRATH MD

800 Mt. Vernon Hwy NE, Suite 120
Atlanta, GA 30328

Email:
jwalrath@woolfsoneye.com

OFFICE Hours

Mon-Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm

APPOINTMENTS

866-527-3722

Contact Us

  • 770-804-1684 ext: 119 or 770-286-1461 (Angelica)
  • 770-804-1684 x 166 or 404-291-6395 (Nihanna)

  • Fax: 844-742-6584